Day 3 Pt. 2 of (Presuma8ly) 2

Standard

I 8elieve that (the 8aptist, monotheistic, Judeo-Christian) God is the creator of all things. 8ig 8ang needs a 8ig 8anger, evidence of Jesus’ resurrection, etc. So logically it followed, to me, that He’d know what’s 8est for me and what will make me happy.

I noticed only a few months ago that although love sometimes seems like a compromise, it is always the right answer 8ecause God provides for those that are righteous (8y giving themselves up in love). 8ut there’s always 8een one aspect of righteousness that I’ve struggled with. It should 8e o8vious; [this is my NoFap journal] after all.

Lately, I’ve 8een unsure of 2 things in my walk with God. I’ve lately wondered what the Holy Spirit was and what its role was in my life, and I’ve long wondered how I could find the strength to keep my mind and 8ody pure. (Y’all know what I mean).

I Googled “Avoiding Lust Christian”, “Christian” 8ecause it would’ve 8een too much trou8le to type “bible,’ seeing as my key8oard is 8roken. I digress. Through this quick read: ( https://www.cbn.com/spirituallife/cb…ming_Lust.aspx ) I was directed towards Paul’s letter to the church in Galatia. Galatia? Yeah, the place is called Galatia. Anyway, here’s a quick summary of the letter as I saw it:

Paul says that if people rely on laws as a sign of their salvation, they would have to follow each and every law of Moses, which is impossi8le 8ecause all people have already sinned. Instead, he tells them that they should focus on salvation through the grace of God, through the gift of His son, with the signs of it 8eing that our hearts change. (No one take my word for it. I only read it through once, and I didn’t stop to think all throughout.)

He also talks a8out our earthly 8odies and how they’re 8urdened 8y temptation. Now this, I thought, is a topic that I care a8out. “Let your old self die,” Paul said, “As Jesus died on the cross.” I’ve wanted this and 8egged for this 8ut still, I felt the weight of lust on my shoulders. I kept reading…

And what I found would’ve made me laugh if I hadn’t 8een in such a crum8y mood at the time. Paul answers 2 of my questions at once: To do away with temptation and 8e like I’d 8e in my new, heavenly 8ody, all I have to do is ask for the (help of the?) Holy Spirit. That’s what we’re given to satisfy this specific need in our lives. That’s what I asked for and that’s what I was given.

Of course, that’s not the only thing I need to do. I’ve also 8ecome more comforta8le with her rejection, one way or another. I’ve 8een working on finding my identity and finding out what I want to do. I’ve got a pretty good idea of what kind of work I want to do every day, for the rest of my life. Next up is acknowledging what I have to offer, and deciding what aspects of myself I want to develop further in order to have more to offer.

8ut temptation is gone. Of course, I’m 8ound to 8e tested further. 8ut at least I now know where to turn.

Also, consider these passages:

James 1:2-4
2 Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, 3 because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. 4 Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.

Romans 5:3-5
3 Not only so, but we also glory in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; 4 perseverance, character; and character, hope. 5 And hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured out into our hearts through the Holy Spirit, who has been given to us.

I have to work on 8eing joyful when life challenges me to respond righteously, morally, wisely, lovingly. It’s easy to 8ecome lost in the emotion of the moment. This perspective seems like a much 8etter alternative, in my honest opinion.

Discussion

