The UnFun Game Project – The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess – Intro

Standard

I don’t want to do this. I’m not sure if I ever did. It seemed like an interesting project but now, on the rain-slick precipice of… this place, I doubt. But that’s the point of this project, ain’t it? To doubt but keep going. To keep going until I find something worthwhile, because I’m pretty sure there’s something worthwhile here. There’s beauty in everything and I will find it here.

The Legend of Zelda series has always fascinated me. And by fascinated, I mean slightly interested. And by slightly interested, I mean… Gee, I’d love to play it. It just doesn’t seem very fun.

What interests me in TLoZ is the… um… The horse-riding through snowy fields. And the bird riding through open skies. And the combat system, which I imagine is simple, but increasingly in-depth and creative as the game goes on. (Specifically referring to Twilight Princess.) Wind Waker had a creative world that I’d love to have explored more when I had the chance (back when I still had the patience to progress enough through the game to crack open its shell. Oddly enough, I didn’t care for that kind of freedom back then, back when it was right in front of me.) And Phantom Hourglass had some great dungeons, as far as I remember (not to mention the absolutely, sickeningly fun and competitive multiplayer, which no one knew about.) It’s also the only TLoZ game that I’ve ever finished.

I applaud TLoZ for being open to players of all skill levels. Actually, I take that back. It ain’t hard to be open to players of all skill levels. All a game has to do to accomplish that is be easy. And easy is easy. No, what I applaud in games is the ability to ease a player into the action while keeping it fun for players as they build their skills and get better at the game. But I’m not here to talk about what I like. At least, not yet.

I’ve never found TLoZ mentally challenging. Sure, the platforming can be challenging at times. But when it comes to the dungeons and puzzles in the game, I can’t help but feel a little bored. It’s almost hard to describe why. It may be because of this: in the puzzles of TLoZ, there is only one way to do things, and finding it isn’t usually hard. The actual process might take time or dexterity to pull off, but it’s never a question of whether you’ll get through or not, only how long it’ll take.

But maybe this is what appeals to people. I can’t speak for any of the games I haven’t at least watched someone play, but TLoZ games seem to be pretty low-stress for the most part. I remember the platforming and combat to be a little frustrating, but the rest of it seems to be straightforward on the most relaxing way: decide what to do and get it done.

Personally, I’m not so into walking that one straight path, I’m not into easy things or relaxation. I prefer walking along the side of the road, or taking a detour through the forest to see what I can see, and in the end, still getting to where I need to be. But I’ve gotta at least try to find something to enjoy here.

There’s beauty in everything, even on this stick-straight, sun-bleached trail leading to nowhere I want to be.

Discussion

