What I learned from… Pt.1

Standard

Take a look: http://chrismartinwrites.com/2014/01/20/how-a-bible-verse-out-of-context-has-spawned-a-belief-system/

What I learned (which ended up in a comment that I’d like to share):

Things might not go well, but I’ll be well through God.

I’m wondering how the “God will never give you more than you can handle” myth arose and what the Bible says contrarily about it. Personally, I’ve been preaching that for a while but I’ve never really taken the time to think about it. Thank you for bringing my attention to it.

“He never gives you anything He can’t handle.” I guess I’ve believed that for a while, though. Sometimes, we can handle things in our own, imperfect way. And it’s not good for us to, but we can. And other times, I guess we can’t handle things our way. Maybe the latter problems are insufferable so that even the most stubborn of us realize that life is really meant to be lived with God at our side, so that those imperfect solutions, which hurt us anyway, no longer satisfy us since we’ve seen what a real, perfect solution is like.

Discussion

