Stepping into some new shoes

Standard

So — Reading The Icarus Deception, etc. New, Real, and Important are apparently what Art is made of. A quick look through my dash and it’s easy to see that at least one of those aspects are true. My favourite bloggers, above all other things, are real. As in, their writing is(seems) unrestrained. It got me wondering, am I being too polite on my own little blog here? I wonder.

I want to make art. I think I’ve always felt that way. The system never found a way to hammer me into their mold. And I don’t mean that to say that I’m a warrior of individualism, that through my strength I’ve overcome the world. I mean that I crave more than what the system could ever give. I want something now; I don’t want it later. (Using analogies straight from the aforementioned book), In my case, the bait wasn’t sweet enough for the fox to be tricked by the hunter. At least, not sweet enough for me to stay around.

I don’t know if I can be raw enough to emulate those bloggers’ success. I don’t know if what I’ve been through will be new enough for anyone, or if anyone will find me important. But I can’t know until I try.

2 thoughts on “Stepping into some new shoes

  1. ‘Tis a good book that. I know how you feel and I have always felt that this is a place to be who you are entirely without regard for others; it’s also my belief that if one cannot do something and be completely oneself while doing it, one should probably find another pursuit.

    • I think you’re right =) Studies say so in DRiVE by Dan Pink. He was mentioned at the start of Icarus too. Anyway, if I can’t be real here, I could always try pottery, right?

Discussion

